Now Offering Custom Foam

CLICK HERE

to see more information

Pelican™ Air 1555 Divider Case
 
 
 
 
 
(9)

Pelican Products Air 1555 Divider Case

Price: $279.95 - $307.95View this productLogin to leave a review
4.4444449

Product Reviews:

I hate the pick and pluck foam of the other cases.
by Valued Customer - June 12, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This case is extremely well built and lite. I was able to fit a lot of gear in using the trekpak system. I hate the pick and pluck foam of the other cases cause you have to commit to a fit and cant customize/ reorganize later without buying all new foam. The only thing I did not like is that they should have included one longer piece of the trekpak insert. Seems cheap to leave it off and make you pay for a whole new set just to get the extra piece you needed to complete the task. This has been mentioned by other reviews I have read. The case gets 5 stars for quality, size and everything else. The trekpak cheaping out on what is a minimal cost item deducts the points. I cant imagine that manufacturing the trekpak is a huge expense that they had to cut corners and short the buyer. I think some people may be able to make it work with the parts it came with but most will need extra parts to customize for more smaller parts. It comes with only two long pieces and two short ones. should have been 3 long parts and 2 short.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
there's no substitute for a Pelican case
by Valued Customer - June 07, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

i've been relying on the strength and reliability of Pelican cases for over 25 years now. the relatively new Air lineup are significantly lighter than the original Pelican cases but have all the strength. the only compromise is in the rigidity as the Air series cases have a bit more flex than the originals. Despite that, they're just as strong, waterproof and durable as the traditional Pelican cases. the reduced weight is far more valuable for my needs. it was just time i bought a larger case to support my camera gear and was able to get the 1555 case with standard dividers at a huge discount from the normal price. there's over a half a cubic foot of extra space over the 1535 Air or 1510 carry-on sized cases. i'll miss the wheels but the lighter weight takes the sting out of having to carry the case instead of dragging it.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Packed full of BOOKS, it weighs 50 Pounds
by Valued Customer - March 08, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I purchased the ''Pelican Air 1555 Case Without Foam'' expressly for the purpose of packing it nearly SOLID with textbooks. When packed full of books it weighs about 50 pounds. Every once in a while I go on a long business trip, during which I need to carry a mini-Reference-Library of books. The ''Pelican Air 1555 Case Without Foam'' is the perfect size, such that when packed nearly FULL with books, the loaded case weighs just under 50 pounds (22. 6 kg). This is important from an air travel perspective, to avoid overweight baggage fees. Your airline's rules for what is considered allowable weight may vary, and the density of your books may differ from the density of mine (mostly college textbooks). Some finesse may be required, when stacking your own books inside a Pelican Air 1555, to achieve the desired weight. Nevertheless this is a PERFECT container for the shipment of books as checked baggage.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Light but Unorthodox Dimensions for Custom Foam Fans. .
by Valued Customer - April 09, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I really like pelican cases, they're fantastic. However, There are some misses with this case. First off, it has a little business card slot. Mine came with only one, and when I messaged pelican support to buy a 2nd, they never replied. Not happy about that. Lastly, I bought this with the intention of using my own foam, however the case has curved edges, making it especially difficult. I want to be able to have two layers of foam, and I dont think the default foam liner will work. A bit more customization would be great, too bad that unusually involves excessive costs. :/

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great case, Should have got the foam
by Valued Customer - September 03, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I ordered the case without the foam, thinking I could save some money using my own. Bad idea. I'd need a lot more practice to make the foam decently form fitting. Pelican's pick and pull foam is great, so I ended up ordering the foam from them anyway. Definitely worth it. The case itself is great. Very sturdy and locks well. I haven't abused it, but have knocked it around some, and it shows no signs of failing

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Doesn't lock up all that tight, I would even.
by Valued Customer - August 02, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Doesn't lock up all that tight, I would even be nervous to check it. The other Pelican products I have are much more solid.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - July 07, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Excellent quality. Holds 2 Motorola base stations with batteries and boom mikes.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Keeps your expensive camera equipment safe
by Valued Customer - February 23, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Great case. Just the right size and very lightweight. Survived the bag slingers and kept my two Nikon cameras safe in checked luggage on a few flights. Padded dividers can be moved about to suit your needs. I'd buy it again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Fantastic protection
by Valued Customer - November 20, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Very good quality case. Pelican cases are a bit pricey, but I don't know of anything that protects nearly this well. The Air is a good reduction in weight while still offering the same quality as their other cases.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no