Now Offering Custom Foam

CLICK HERE

to see more information

iM2750 Storm Travel Case | Pelican
 
 
 
 
 
(19)

Pelican Products iM2750 Storm Travel Case | Pelican

Price: $240.96 - $446.05View this productLogin to leave a review
4.89473619

Product Reviews:

A Review of Two Cases - Pelican versus Nanuk.
by Valued Customer - July 02, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

We'll see how it actually holds up under fire. There are several areas of concern, going over this case. The wheels are just a touch too small for rolling on something like low-pile carpet. I'm sure they'll be fine on flat hard floors, as long as it's even. The side handles are very stiff to pull out and just as stiff to put back against the sides, rather than self-retracting. This leads me to believe they will probably be subjected to more insults by baggage handlers who are too lazy to do one or the other, or both. But the case does have four handles, so hopefully it's the one above the wheels, if anything should happen. The latches aren't as crisp in operation and are kind of light in comparison with a Nanuk case. When the latches are shut, I get the urge to check and re-check that they are actually engaged and positively locked in. All it takes is one incident of not latching to throw off confidence, and I've had that with the case. Only repeated exposure to TSA agents will tell for sure. The upright handle used when rolling the case on its wheels was dubious as some have stated. In addition, the release for it is in an awkward spot and requires two hands for operating. Moving the release is also not very intuitive. It goes the exact opposite way you would expect a release to go, and is very stiff to operate also, thus the two-handed operation. Then, you need to figure out which of the two hands you'll use to actually pull up the handle. Retracting it is the opposite of this, with the two-hands, etc. In addition to those issues, it's all plastic on plastic contact between the handle and the base, and I could feel the expected wear taking place from the first time I pulled it up. I'd expect that this may be one of the first parts to go, and would make the wheels and bottom base useless, in that event. The barely-conscious thought to treat that area with kid gloves becomes evident whenever using the handle. The rest of the case seems okay, except for one thing. I noted that when this one is closed, the seam is not entirely flat and uniform in front. With all latches positively closed and seal fully in place, I might add, there is a wavy area between the top and bottom, as from not molded quite precisely, or heat distorted somehow. There is between an 1/8'' and 1/4'' of variation of the mating surfaces within about 12'' to 18'' of the front of the case. This is with it empty and with no stress, free-standing. I'm wondering how that will affect the seal. Something else to keep an eye on. Both the Nanuk and Pelican have lifetime warranties. Given the look and the playtime I've now had with both, working everything quite a few times, I probably would have opted to go all-Nanuk just for the fit, finish, and practicality of the various details. I'll keep the Pelicans though and report any new developments with either brand. UPDATE 11-17-2014: First deployment over and done with. All is well. Both Pelicans held up. Hint: On my return trip, I couldn't find my cases. Turns out the baggage people pulled them aside and were keeping an eye on them. I asked why and was told ''Whenever we see these Pelican cases come through, they usually have something precious or expensive in them, so we like to keep a special watch over them. '' Cool!DaveAgain

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
The greatest hard plastic cases.
by Valued Customer - July 04, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

What a great case. Anyone who has ever looked for a sturdy plastic case should buy one of the pelican brand. I know others claim to be just as good. I however have not found it to be so. Pelican all the way. Real quality products.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Update - Pelican Service: 5 Stars!
by Valued Customer - July 04, 2012
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I've flown with this case loaded to 69. 5 lbs on 2 occasions now. It has survived with only some dings and scratches, but nothing bad. The wheels, latches and handles did not seem overburdened by the weight, but I think 100 lbs might be the limit. Before the first trip, I loaded it up and flipped it over a few times on my driveway to see how it would hold up to baggage handlers. It's not indestructible, but with 70 lbs in it, I think it would survive a 4 or 5 foot fall without splitting open. I need to fly with hand tools as well as some specialized equipment for my trade. It was nice to have the protective (and portable) case at the job sites as well. I use to just pack my tools and equipment in a regular suitcase (usually 2) along with my clothes. I'm glad I got this size as anything smaller would not have worked as well for me. This size may be larger than you need if you are unwilling to pay for overweight luggage. It will get over 50 lbs fast, but the size is just right for 70 lbs of tools and test equipment. Update: On my last trip, airline baggage handling managed to break a corner of the rear extendable handle. The box weighed 47lbs at check-in. It was still functional, but obviously weakened. Tuesday evening I contacted Pelican via a form on their web site. When I got home on Friday I had a whole new handle piece (with wheels and everything) waiting on my doorstep - ABSOLUTELY FREE!. What incredible service! That will keep me a loyal Pelican customer.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
great airport chair too.
by Valued Customer - August 08, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

it is a bit heavy and somewhat at the point where you may not be able to use all the space and keep it under checked bag weight limit. that said, it's a huge pelican case to protect your toys and works great at that.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Hardigg vs Pelican
by Valued Customer - February 05, 2009
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

There really is no comparison unless you are comparing the BEST Hardigg to the Pelican line, which means this specific Hardigg Case. Hardiig makes a very cheap line of cases not nearly as nice as the Pelican. But this case is their new line meant to compete with Pelican. Both cases are superb. This is a very nice case. Build quality and layout is about 100%. I believe it is more water proof than the Pelicans, but narrowly. They are lighter than the pelican. They have inline skate wheels, not the Pelican smaller type, which Pelican is now using more. They are cheaper. What I remember is that the specifications given by Hardigg, for this case, when compared to the specifications on a like case by Pelican, are true enough. So read the specs and you'll get a pretty good idea of the two cases. One thing I do remember is that the Pelican cases are a little more rigid than this case, which initially I thought would mean they are less tough. I'm not convinced they are, but again read the specs, which are truthful. One reason for this feeling is that the Hardigg case is a new different material, which weighs less, than the Pelicans. For me that was good because of flight weight considerations carrying my photo equipment. Pelican is a great case, but so too is this case, and it's lighter too, and costs less.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Finally got me one for a toolbox to take on.
by Valued Customer - January 12, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Finally got me one for a toolbox to take on airplanes. Yes it holds up, so far, if it doesn't, who cares, has a lifetime warranty. At least I won't be buying the next one.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Has arrived with new foam in almost perfect condition.
by Valued Customer - December 08, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

First time I've bought a used Pelican case. Has arrived with new foam in almost perfect condition.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - August 10, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Bought it for iTero scanner and it works well!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Perfect dimensions for Ford truck box storage
by Valued Customer - December 01, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I use this as a catch-all ''toolbox'' in the bed of my truck (with a rolling cover). This case is the perfect height to not interfere with the rolling cover on a 2017+ Ford Super Duty. It's large enough to be useful, but small enough to not consume too much space.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
This was a Christmas gift for my niece. She.
by Valued Customer - February 10, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This was a Christmas gift for my niece. She is a professional photographer. It was exactly what she needed to carry all her delicate equipment. Absolutely loves it!!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - July 28, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Awesome, huge and not as heavy as expected. Love it!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Perfect for flying with fragile equipment
by Valued Customer - December 22, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Fits just under specs for checked baggage on flights. Keeps things safe and secure. I even use it for my ''safe'' when traveling to dangerous countries.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Good Product
by Valued Customer - August 25, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Four secure clasps > no fear of opening under rough handling conditionsEasy-to-form foam cutouts for secure carriage of glassware. Good price, good value.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great for Yuneec Drone rolling case
by Valued Customer - June 26, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Fits my Yuneec Q500 4k drone with its original styrofoam packing in it. Will recommend to any Yuneec drone owner, since this one has rolling wheels to move around.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Best luggage money can buy!
by Valued Customer - July 25, 2010
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

We bought 2 of the iM2750 cases (no foam, no inserts) in 2003 for a trip to Hawaii. Our previous suitcases on this trip were destroyed-handles cut from the case, wheels broken, fabric cut, even the labels were ripped off. When we waited at the airport luggage carousel for our new snazzy yellow cases, we actually laughed when we saw what someone tried to do to them-there was a tire track across one of them, a boot print on the other, and they were permanently filthy. BUT they were totally intact, the wheels were still there, all the handles all fine, they were just dirty. They have since made that same trip a few more times, as well as any of our other travels. In May 2010, I saw a luggage handler ''frisbee'' throw one of the Storm Cases from the luggage truck 10 feet to the plane conveyor belt. My old suitcase would have busted apart at the zipper, and I wondered why luggage was taped and shrink-wrapped when it came down the luggage carousel. My Storm Case was fine from this kind of abuse. Aside from the scuffs and dirt ground in (yes I have really tried to clean them up and it is NOT coming off), they have lasted better than anything else I have ever seen. The handles are all still perfect, the wheels are still perfect, the telescoping handle is still intact, all the latches work perfectly. I get lots of comments about ''what kind of luggage is that?!'' and I will sing the Storm Case's praises. They are easy to keep clean (I wipe the insides down), they don't hold smells from stinky hotels like a fabric suitcase, and hold a lot so make sure you weigh after packing to keep it to under 50 lbs. Since there are no little stretchy straps inside like ''real luggage'' we use Cabela's Packing Organizers to keep clothes folded and neat. We also use them as lockable ''trunks'' in the back of our jeeps-we lock them to the roll cage, padlock the case, and everything stays secure, clean and dry no matter what we drive through. Be sure to check. if you don't get this size, to double-check the allowable airline luggage size to make sure the OUTSIDE length/width/height of the Storm Case you do get is within the limits, and note the weight of the case AND what you want to pack, so you are not overpacking the allowed 50 lbs. All the exterior and interior dimensions and case weights are available on the stormcasedotcom site. Ours have had 7 years of travel abuse and are still going strong-I cannot imagine using anything else for traveling ever again!!!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Awesome case! I can't say that Pelican makes a.
by Valued Customer - December 29, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Awesome case! I can't say that Pelican makes a bad product

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - March 28, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Great product, perfect timming on delivery. Thanks

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - September 21, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

It is exactly what I needed and it works very well.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - October 19, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Ordered these cases for oilfield service equipment work perfectly

Was this review helpful to you? yes no