Now Offering Custom Foam

CLICK HERE

to see more information

iM2500 Storm Carry-On Case | Pelican
 
 
 
 
 
(26)

Pelican Products iM2500 Storm Carry-On Case | Pelican

Price: $169.18 - $237.29View this productLogin to leave a review
4.80769226

Product Reviews:

If you're still trying to decide if you want a.
by Valued Customer - November 07, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

If you're still trying to decide if you want a pelican case, ask yourself this question: If I dropped this ''INSERT ITEM YOU WANT TO PROTECT'' on the ground, into water, or from a reasonable height, would it break ? If the answer is yes, go ahead and purchase it. Pelican is and has been the gold standard for protecting your electronics and valuables in all environments. Mine has been to the middle east, and back. Not a single issues at all. Gravel, sand, blowing dust, rain (go figure), drops, weight, etc can not stop this case.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Four Stars
by Valued Customer - December 06, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Great little case, a bit smaller than expected, but seems pretty sturdy

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great case, much better than Pelican and SKB
by Valued Customer - October 05, 2009
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This is an excellent hard shell case. I use mine as a suitcase for overnight business trips and as a rugged case for tools. I often travel with a lot of books and this case excels with heavy loads. I can sit or stand on it if necessary, and generally don't have to worry about damaging it, or getting it wet or dirty. It rolls beautifully and the wheels are large enough so small rocks and sidewalk cracks are generally not a problem. I researched thoroughly and considered the choices very carefully when I selected this case. The competition from Pelican and SKB fell short in three key areas. 1. This Storm Case has superior latches. The secondary release mechanism is better-it requires simultaneous pushing on the inner button while pulling out on the latch, such that pressure from an object or tension from a snag will not open the latch. The Pelican and SKB models have a secondary latch that pulls in the same direction as the main latch such that a snag on the lever will open it (quite easily in the case of the SKB). There are padlock holes on all three but the plastic on this one is so soft that I'm pretty sure you could just twist the lock off or cut away the material quite easily. Plus the lock holes are placed such that the locks will be jutting out and quite likely to catch on things. The pelican case lines their lock holes with metal so perhaps they're more secure. 2. This Storm case has a superior handle for two reasons: a. The handle of this Storm case, when retracted, can still be grasped such that it provides a convenient carrying handle on the end of the case rather than the side. This is very nice when maneuvering it into the overhead bin and carrying by hand without having to rotate the case from rolling to carrying position. b. The end of the handle is smooth such that sliding another bag over it is smooth and easy (I'm talking about handbags and computer briefcases that have a hollow sleeve meant to slide over the suitcase handle for easy piggy-backing). The Pelican case has a wide flat handle with a T at the end that acts like a fish hook barb making it very difficult to remove the piggy-backed bag from the handle-it gets caught and it's a real hassle. This is quite important for air travel when you're constantly re-configuring your load at the ticket counter, security, on the plane, etc. 3. The internal-space -to- external-volume ratio for this case is higher than for the others. This means that less volume is wasted on case parts, handle enclosure, wheel moldings, and external reinforcements. In other words, for the same external dimensions you get more packing space. This case is pretty much at the maximum carry-on dimensions, and unlike a cloth suitcase, much of that volume is lost to the case itself due to the thick walls and rugged construction. This is par for the course for a case like this but the Storm Case gets you more packing space than the SKB or Pelican. A few drawbacks worth considering: 1. If you use it for clothing or other soft items, it's difficult to pack all the contents inside without anything getting caught in the seam. There's no inner molding or flap to help with this as there typically is on a zipper suitcase. Plus with a soft bag you can just poke your finger in to get clothing out of the way. With this case, since it's rigid, there's not much you can do except open the case, re-tuck everything in around the edges, and try again. 2. The handle can not be extended or retracted with a single hand. It does not slide freely, such that the release catch must be actuated with one hand while pushing down (or pulling up) on the handle with the other hand, which is sometimes rather clumsy if you're carrying other items. It is a very sturdy handle, however-much stronger than I expected from molded plastic. A couple of other specific notes. If you use this as a tool case, it gets heavy very fast. I also own the next larger size but I can't use that one for tools because it goes overweight before it's even half full. This i2500 is just the right size for 50 pounds of hand tools and hardware. If you're tempted to get one of the lid organizers, be advised that it will not stay attached very long. It uses sticky-backed velcro to attach to the inside of the lid, and the stick is nowhere near permanent. Mine detaches constantly now, and has done so since my second or third trip. In summary I am quite pleased with my Hardig Storm Case, it outranks the competition in a few key areas, but still has room for improvement-especially in the handle lock mechanism.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - December 04, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Great Price

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great Carry-on
by Valued Customer - May 01, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Took on a flight with no issues. Really like this case. Unfortunately I was forced to check it because the plane was over crowded and it got scratched to hell, but that's not really a product flaw. Tough little carry-on.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Wow, tough product!
by Valued Customer - October 06, 2008
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I ordered this case to transport my digital projector and other electronics through airports and other locales. After my first trip with it, I am highly satisfied-it took some pretty hard knocks but protected the gear inside perfectly. It is a heavy beast for the size, but lighter than the Pelican equivalent. Excellent product!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great hardshell case!
by Valued Customer - January 01, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I needed to travel with a special solar telescope and needed a case that wold work for carry-on airline use. My telescope manufacturer (Lunt) recommended this iM2500 and the preferred case for the job. The pluck foam allowed me to customize the fit for my gear. The case is extremely well-made and durable and really ideal for airline/travel use. It has roller wheels and an extending handle just like most roller luggage except more rugged than luggage. The pluck-foam has about 4 layers and it is possible to order refills if for some reason you need to re-arrange how you place your gear in the case. I actually bought of two of these, then later ordered a third because of how well it works. They do stack together modularly.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
great travel case
by Valued Customer - March 05, 2009
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I love hard cases such as Storm Case and Pelican. I own both brands and they are very comparable in many ways, and basically equal in my opinion. I use this case for camera gear and it hold 2 DSLR bodies with battery grips, 2 flashes, 4 lenses (including a big 70-200 2. 8), and lots of little accessories like batteries and flash modifiers. I had the cubed foam for a while but eventually purchased the divider set and like that much more.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Sick of buying new suit cases as I travel a.
by Valued Customer - September 05, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Sick of buying new suit cases as I travel a lot, have a smaller unit for tools, this one bought for clothes as a check bag, had over a year, only thing is TSA, customs, and airport personell always double check as it must not be normal to use as a suit case, so they always look and ask twice. .

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Perfect
by Valued Customer - May 02, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Pelican means quality and their cases are worth every penny. I'm using the iM2500 for my astronomical gear: eyepieces, diagonal, filters and adapters. Everything fits perfectly and I can rest assured that they'll be protected from pretty much anything.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great box. Lid doesn't pop open.
by Valued Customer - June 01, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Great box like all pelican products. I'm disappointed there is no top or side handle like their other boxes.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
One tough case!
by Valued Customer - July 29, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

When you travel, it is important that your case is able to withstand a substantial amount of abuse. I often travel with my firearms. When I do, it's important that I have a reliable, strong case in which to secure my unloaded firearm in checked luggage. My Pelican Storm is just that case. The case is constructed of a very strong plastic material. I don't exactly know what that plastic is but you can drive a tractor over it 'cause it's that strong! Let's just say that I'm a big guy. I can stand on it and jump up-and-down and not even dent it with my weight. It has two very secure locking mechanisms on the side as shown in the pictures. Also, near the corners and the locking mechanisms are two holes for you padlocks - Voila, instant safe! Okay this case is not a bank vault, but it's as close as you're going to get for this price. The only complaint I have is that it's not light. But for practical reasons, I perfectly understand the trade-off between weight and security.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - October 28, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Pretty solid case finish up been the wrong size for me but still good to use with something else

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
great
by Valued Customer - June 17, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Handy, hand-luggage ready, great quality

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - September 21, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Just as durable as advertised.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - January 29, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Last luggage I will ever buy.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Durable, light, LIFETIME WARRANTY
by Valued Customer - January 22, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

The cases are durable and lighter than you would think. I travel with these and ship them you UPS all the time with 70 lbs or more of tools and parts in them. It is not unusual for me to have to ask a customer to stand on the lid so I can latch it. This isn't because it's hard latch but because I have that much stuff in it! The case itself is slightly flexible so it is easily overstuffed and latchable. This flexibility is a key to its durability. I did manage to break a wheel assembly after it fell 15 feet off a Forklift at a construction site with about 80 lbs of steel parts inside. One call to the 800 number and replacement parts were on the way. The customer service representative said if damage was bad enough they would request a email with pictures and consider the unit destroyed in the field and send a complete new unit without expecting return of the old! Fantastic service! Considering what Briggs and Riley luggage costs, this is a much more manly option.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
They are perfect for travel
by Valued Customer - March 19, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I own a half dozen of these. They are perfect for travel. They fit in most overhead compartments unless you're flying on a small jet, such as an Embraer. The case is super tough. Airtight. And is a great makeshift ''chair'' when waiting in lines or to board. Just pop down the handle and have a seat. The case is strong enough to pack fine china, and then use as a stepping stool; provided you have the correct inner packing setup.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Pelican cases rock
by Valued Customer - March 29, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I love pelican cases. This case is perfect for my camera equipment and the retractable handle with rolling wheels is an added bonus. I highly recommend this case to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - June 29, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

great

Was this review helpful to you? yes no