Now Offering Custom Foam

CLICK HERE

to see more information

1730 Protector Transport Case | Pelican
 
 
 
 
 
(10)

Pelican Products 1730 Protector Transport Case | Pelican

Price: $467.95View this productLogin to leave a review
4.710

Product Reviews:

Great case!!
by Valued Customer - December 07, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I bought this for a large screen computer we have at work that needs to be transported between offices daily. This computer cost $30K so I really needed something that was sturdy and had a hard case as well as being insulated and cushy inside to ward off any knocking around that could occur during each move. This case is all that. It was easy to cut out the foam inserts to mold to whatever you need to protect. I highly recommend this box if you have something large that needs quality safekeeping. And you can put a lock on the case too for added protection.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Heavy case, but otherwise perfect.
by Valued Customer - July 05, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Wonderfully designed case with wheels to make moving it a one man job. The case is fairly heavy (see description for exact weight) and can be a hassle to move up stairs or across terrain where wheels cannot be used. This makes moving it a two man job, especially if it has equipment weighing more than 10 or 20 lbs inside. It is too bulky to carry single-handed and anyone who does it may run the risk of injury. There is a reason they show forklifts moving it in the promotional videos. I do not recommend taking this as luggage on a flight - consider a lighter, smaller (possibly carry-on) model unless you are hauling large equipment that ABSOLUTELY requires this level of protection. These things are designed to be on pallets in C-130's, not necessarily to be hauled around commercial airports. This thing has kept moisture out of it in the toughest of humid conditions in various portions of the North and Middle Georgia terrain. Not once have I had any issues with humidity when changing environments. With that said, however, I do recommend the desiccation kit if you are using it in very humid conditions, as condensation may be an issue. I personally haven't had this problem storing it outdoors for long periods, but I have not had to open the case in outdoor humidity over maybe 50% due to the limited times I check it throughout the year. So I defer to others on this issue. The case is sturdy enough for me to stand on it without it giving way in the slightest. The promotional videos show a truck running over it and, after my experience with dropping it, standing on it, etc, I can believe the fact that it may be able to withstand that. This thing will probably outlast me by a few millenia. Haha. Overall, it's a dang fine case that truly is military grade. I use this to store my most valuable items that are sensitive to the environment and I am seriously contemplating buying a few more for the other valuables that I need to put in long term storage. With these cases, you can literally bury them in a desert and not have issues.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Fits nicely a 2U 24'' deep security appliance and a 1U.
by Valued Customer - November 12, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Fits nicely a 2U 24'' deep security appliance and a 1U firewall for roadshow demos. With about 3 inches of foam padding on all sides plus it has plenty of room for cables and whatnots. I wish it had dual side handles for 2 person loading. It does get pretty heavy with gear inside.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Almost perfect. Almost.
by Valued Customer - January 03, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I'd give it 5 stars, but the rubber gasket around the lid keeps falling out, causing me to have to push it back in place each time I want to close the case. Also, a handle on the long edge would be very handy, but it doesn't have one - so you can only pick it up by the top/bottom. So close to being awesome, instead it's just really good.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Pelican makes some of the finest travel gear for rugged use. .
by Valued Customer - November 04, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

It's big, has so many locks to seal it up and it rolls. . the inside dimensions are perfect for what I use it for and it's plenty heavy enough for many years of use. . my only complaint is the wheels are only on 1 end, yet it has handles on both. . Adding the second set of wheels would make this perfect. .

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Foam does not encompass wheel molds.
by Valued Customer - May 01, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

To begin, Pelican makes fantastic cases, and this won't be an exception for the majority of consumers. HOWEVER, a pretty critical design flaw keeps this model, and likely all models with wheels, a case I can use. In the photo attached the solid bottom layer and the bottom ''pull and pluck'' layer are shown. The case is molded to suit the wheels obviously. However, the foam does not cover the mold entirely. As a result, fragile items will be left with no support. As mentioned likely not a major defect to most consumers, but for storing a telescope, renders the case unusable. Four stars because the case is still very good for most uses just not for mine. Great case, I'll just have to choose a different model.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
I Bought For My Celestron SkyProdigy 130 Telescope
by Valued Customer - July 12, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This case impresses me. Wow. If you need to store something of high quality - put it into a high quality case. In the case of the SkyProdigy 130 telescope, look at my customer-photo there to see how I ended up plucking the foam for it. I was able to fit everything. the scope, tripod, base - even some accessories - into this one case. Make sure to get the free shipping option if available. It took two UPS men to get it to my door. But I'd buy it all over again in a second.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Tough as nails
by Valued Customer - November 15, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Pelican cases are great- there are no two ways about it. This particular case is used to ship a 27'' iMac to trade shows and is exceptional. There are several layers of foam (some of which are mostly pre-cut, so that you can just pull out sections as you wish) and the shell and hinge are very tough.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Rugged and great for frequent shipments
by Valued Customer - November 24, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This is the third Pelican case of this size we have bought to use for shipping trade show supplies to/from events where we exhibit. Very sturdy and works great for frequent shipments. One of the two we purchased about 18 months ago had a handle break off from frequent use. We purchased this one to replace the one with the broken handle. Foam inserts are very handy and work well. We customized one to fit around our tv monitor and it protects it well while in transit. Latches open/close easily and there is a place to insert a travel lock to secure contents while in transit. Very rugged case. Even though the handle broke on one of our previous cases, I still decided to purchase another one of the same brand for its replacement. A little pricey but well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Everything you love about Pelican Cases in a new LARGER size
by Valued Customer - January 18, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Wonderful addition to the PELICAN line. I'm using this to transport my EPSON P800 printer. The dimensions of this case make it equally well suited for lighting kits and power supplies. The 1730 will nest with other 1730 cases. This would be especially useful during transport and makes shipping via common carrier on pallets a snap. This size should be more efficient and easier to use than the PELICAN 1620. I use two 1620s to hold one 2400ws pack and six heads. A single 1730 could do that.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no