Now Offering Custom Foam

CLICK HERE

to see more information

1720 Protector Long Case | Pelican
 
 
 
 
 
(10)

Pelican Products 1720 Protector Long Case | Pelican

Price: $249.52 - $311.09View this productLogin to leave a review
510

Product Reviews:

Excellent, excellent case.
by Valued Customer - April 04, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

It was a few years ago when I broke down and bought my first Pelican case. I wish I would have done it sooner. If you are on the fence, do it. There will be no regrets, especially if you are hauling nicer ''things'' that you don't want getting damaged. Back of pickup trucks, airline baggage handlers. . no problem. These cases are awesome and are for life. The only thing I would note is that the Storm models have slightly nicer latches. . with that said, these are great and work wonderfully. Pelican is the only case I will ever buy. . I have four now and will be happy to add more as needed.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
You can find cheaper, but you won't find better.
by Valued Customer - August 07, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I've used pelican cases for cameras, camcorders, audio recorders, microphones, mixers, and now rifles. These are worth the extra price-trust me on that. I have dropped cases with $5, 000 worth of delicate camera/audio equipment and not suffered damage. I have had cases left in the rain and the contents were bone dry. These in particular (this is my third 1700-series rifle case) are easy to carry, roll comfortably, and can be stacked. I suspect for those so inclined, they could even be buried for safekeeping. Don't trust your valuable stuff to cheaper, less well-made cases.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
The Best
by Valued Customer - February 23, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This case is by far the best out there! I have a Scar 16s and a FNX 45 in this 1720 case and it fits perfect! Love it!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Pelican makes a great product!
by Valued Customer - October 28, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

The case is very well constructed! Probably a bit heavier than the competition, but I am totally OK with that. I have two of these; one fits my Colt AR15 M4 5. 56 rifle and the other fits two Colt M4. 22LR rifles. I keep simple tools and manuals in the lid under the foam and they stay put.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Excellent Rifle Case
by Valued Customer - June 13, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I am of the opinion that Pelican makes the finest hard cases available on the market today. This rifle case is just another fine example. I would have preferred pluck-foam versus the solid foam provided but it wasn't available. I found applying a layer of painter's tape on top of the foam to be cut and then carefully tracing an outline of my rifle and rifle accessories on the tape simplified the process of customizing the fitting. I highly recommend the use of an electric carving knife to cut out the pattern. The final product is impressive.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Best case on the market!!
by Valued Customer - April 29, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I bought this case for my rifle and I am more than pleased. It has 3 layers of foam which can all be removed from the case. The middle one can be cut to your needs. I would have preferred if the middle layer would have been their plug out foam because cutting the foam is a bit tricky and the result is so-so. But than again, the rifle is protected very well and 99. 9% of all time, the lid of the box is closed and you don't see the foam. I usually have my paper target under the top foam layer between the lid and the foam and you can of course store at least to handguns in that box too. It is expensive but not only is it's quality superior, PELICAN is supporting the NRA and that is one more reason to work with them!! Hooah!!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Top of the line, what you should expect from Pelican
by Valued Customer - August 19, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I've always been a fan of Pelican's gear. Whether it be for my photography gear or arsenal of guns, they always get the job done and see that whatever is inside gets to where it is going safely. I've flown several times with the case, and with everything the airlines put the checked luggage through, this would come out unscathed - better yet, the contents remained safe and sound, even after being chucked around tarmacs from Tennessee to Chicago to Fargo, you can't touch this. The solid foam inserts are easy to cut but hold their shape well, even when thinned out when cut close to the edge. I'd advise you to use a Sharpie to draw an outline of whatever it may be you'll be carrying in the case and proceed to cut a 1/4 of an inch inside the outline to ensure a tight fit around your possessions to eliminate any movement in the case. The OD Green looks great and the finish is well done. The wheels are a welcome feature, too, especially when traveling with several bags. However, be careful when you go shopping for locks - it took me three different purchases before finding locks that fit the case's lock holes.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
You get what you pay for
by Valued Customer - March 15, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Superior case. I've got two (2) collapsable stock AR's in mine, stacked high and low. They make a longer one for bolt guns I think. I placed the rifles in a staggered arrangement in the case, and drew their outlines with a sharpie. I then pulled out that layer of solid foam and cut it with scissors, which took better part of an hour. I put carpet tape (double stick) on the cut-out part, and it stays in fine. A friend used that spray glue from 3M and his stays in also. Anyway, now I've got a custom case for the guns. Unlike ALL the descriptions and advertising says, this case does NOT come with the pre-cut slices to form fit your gun. You've simply got to cut it yourself, which works out better anyway. Not much room for mags, but I can fit a few in there. Besides, TSA says ammo's got to be in a different case. The case itself is, well, it's a Pelican. Their plastic is so incredibly hard and heavy and yes the pressure seals DO work well. I just pull it around on it's wheels, now everyone at the range wants one just like it in the same color (Desert) lol. I bought a case-wrap lock, as well as a couple of TSA locks for it. I mean, if someone wants to steal it they're gonna steal it, but those locks will keep the riff-raff out. TSA will go through it anyway, and happily bust your locks if not TSA compliant.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Very heavy duty
by Valued Customer - December 16, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

It has wheels on one end to make it easier to move which tells you just how heavy duty this is. Much sturdier and a little bit heavier than I expected. That's ok, but I might of toned it down to a different case had I realized this is a bit of a beast. Cutting out the foam to fit the gun shape and accessories is super easy (did it with a serrated kitchen steak knife!) and only takes minutes. Must emphasize that this case is super heavy duty and is also heavy to carry.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Super Tough Case
by Valued Customer - March 28, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

It's a Pelican case. Need I say any more? This is slightly short for a gun case. Perfect for a Ruger No. 1 Sporter or a black rifle with a telescoping stock and have room left for a pistol and several boxes of ammo. I've now had my case for about 6 months and it has gotten a few heavy gouges and lots of minor scuffs and scratches from the airlines but the raised ridges do a great job of taking the abuse so the majority of the case (and my colorful stickers) are protected. I am not nice to this case. I drag it over curbs. Sling it in the back of the truck. Occasionally let it fall over with a loud thunk. Still nothing inside has ever been damaged. I've never had to re-zero a gun after traveling with this case. I'm 100% confident when I arrive for a hunt that I can pull my gun out of the case and be ready to go. The case is just short enough that it's not 100% obvious that it's a gun case and is often mistaken for a traveling trade show display case. It's also short enough that it has easily fit in the trunk of smaller cars. Pelican cases are not light weight so the shorter length saves a few pounds over the longer model. It's a trade off that this case can't be used with longer guns but being a few pounds lighter and being shorter can be a big help if you travel a lot.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no