Now Offering Custom Foam

CLICK HERE

to see more information

1650 Protector Case | Pelican
 
 
 
 
 
(10)

Pelican Products 1650 Protector Case | Pelican

Price: $289.95 - $388.95View this productLogin to leave a review
4.810

Product Reviews:

I am very pleased with the results
by Valued Customer - April 01, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I bought this for my Celestron 8SE telescope, as the actual case Nexstar was selling was around $500. I figured this would be cheaper doing it myself, and this seemed more durable for the cost. The case comes with solid foam which you have to pull out according to what shape you want. The foam comes in pre-cut little squares which you can remove just using your hands. Made a bit of a mess as you can see from my picture, but it saved me a ton of money having to buy a case that was specifically made for the scope. I am very pleased with the results.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great for cruises if you want to bring back a case of Bacardi!
by Valued Customer - June 02, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I bought this case to use as luggage and yes it is over kill I was tired of standard luggage breaking after 1 to 2 uses. To be fair I over pack the luggage and I will explain why I went with the Pelican 1650 case. I bought this to take on a cruise because when we go on a cruise we normally bring back a case of Bacardi because it is so cheap. I can tell you that the Pelican 1650 (with foam removed) will fit a full case of Bacardi 1 liter bottles in the box. If could not be any easier than that I was so happy. Before I would have to wrap each bottle with clothes in may old luggage and then after a few blocks of walking the old luggage wheels would start to fail. Now this thing is heavy at around 38 lbs empty a case of Bacardi and my stuff I was pushing 100 lbs with this. Not something you would want to go on an airline with but a cruise it was perfect. Because it has 4 wheels and they are solid it rolled with ease and there was no wear at all when done. I wish I had done this sooner. Now the other down side to this besides the weight is that being rigid it does not store as easily but it can go anywhere and you do not have to worry about it. This case is like a tank and worked perfectly for my needs and I would buy it again in a heartbeat after this last use. One other negative is on a cruise it is a little big for the cabins on the ship but you can fit it into the small lockers in the room and it does that up lots of the room but manageable.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great. HUGE.
by Valued Customer - September 02, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This thing is huge. Dimensional estimate ratio for pelican cases is usually very conservative when estimating the volume consumed vs the storage volume provided. But, it's Pelican, so how can you not love it?I'm using this to house all of my DeWalt cordless tools, batteries, and accessories. One thing about this case that might be prohibitive for some, it's very heavy when it's empty. You have been warned!This is my first (of many) Pelican case that has the rollers and the slide out handle. I'm 6'4'', almost no luggage type rolling products are comfortable for me to use. I usually end up just carrying stuff by the handle. This one IS long enough to be useful. While the material used is very strong, it has a lot of slop. This is not true of the rest of the case of course, just the handle. I guess you can remove it, and just use the short case handle, but then it's difficult to handle. That's another thing, I have never seen a Pelican case with all of this extra crap on the bottom for the handle, but that makes sense I guess. It just seems like the whole luggage handle apparatus was a victim of hustled or intern engineering since it's not very critical to the functionality of the case itself, protection wise.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Strong like bull
by Valued Customer - November 06, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I swear by Pelican cases to keep my stuff safe and conveniently portable. I use them for photography gear, and I've found that it's much easier to wheel in three big cases full of stuff than it is to make multiple trips for small armloads of milk creates, cardboard boxes, and travel bags. I can shove the cases into any space they'll fit in my car and not worry about what's on top of what. This case features enough room for six studio light heads plus cables and accessories. The foam comes in two layers, so you can make each compartment full or half depth. I tried my best to fit the contours of the items I'm holding, and then carve out two big full-depth pockets to hold power cords and the like. The wheels are big enough that it rolls easily over most surfaces without wobbling back and forth too much. I'm sure it also cuts down on wear and tear over time. It's a really nice case, and showing up for gigs with professional cases not only helps me get started quickly, but I gotta say, looks nice to the client.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great case for video production!
by Valued Customer - January 04, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I now have 3 Pelican cases and plan on buying even more in the future. I bought the Pelican 1500 Case at the same time as the 1650 and have owned the Pelican Air 1535 for about 4 months now. I run a small video production company, and use these cases for storing and transporting almost all of my equipment, from camera bodies and lenses to microphones, monitors, and even a slate. The 1650 is a very large case, and held a large amount of equipment for me. As far as ''constructing'' the inside of the case with the pick-n-pluck foam, I took some advice from others on the web and used toothpicks to mark out the sizes of equipment before doing any actually plucking and picking. One of the best decisions I've made with this case was ordering the Pelican 1659 Lid Organizer at the same time. I haven't installed lid organizers in the 1535 or 1500 yet, but after realizing how convenient it is to be able to throw my spare camera batteries, cords, and other miscellaneous pieces into the lid organizer (instead of a separate bag or backpack), it's something I plan on looking into. Anyone who has experience any Pelican case can speak for how stellar the build quality is. These cases are clearly built to last and I never worry about storing several thousand dollars' worth of equipment in mine, especially when they can also be locked up. These cases are incredibly sturdy and built to make transportation easier, and the 1650 is no exception. It has two sets of double wheels on the bottom edge of the case as well as an extending handle that allows you to roll the case with ease - a definite need for this case since it's far too big and heavy to lift and carry anywhere. This case is deep enough that it actually has 2 rows of pick-n-pluck foam instead of 1 row (which the 1535 and 1500 both have). I was able to take advantage of this depth with a few items, most notably the suction mount, slate, and rail system. I've attached a picture to my review in order to get a better reference for just how big this case is and how much it can hold, and I'll break down the equipment inside now for those curious:-Canon EOS 70D Digital SLR Camera-Canon EOS Rebel T3i Digital SLR Camera Body-Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens-Rokinon CV85M-C 85mm t/1. 5 Lens-Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera-Aputure 7-Inch Digital Video LCD Monitor-Matte Box-LP-E8 Battery Chargers (2)-Suction Cup Mount-1/4'' Mount Stand Thing-Hot Shoe Stand (x2)-AA/AAA Plastic Battery Storage Case/Organizer/Holder-Clapboard with Color Sticks (9x11 inches)-160 LED CN-160 Video Light (x2)-Opteka Follow Focus-Opteka 15mm Rod SystemI was able to fit a ton of stuff in the lid organizer as well, mostly extra batteries, a power strip, a sunshade for the monitor, pens/dry erase markers, gaffer's tape, cords, etc.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Perfect for photography equip
by Valued Customer - December 19, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Purchased for my photography equipment and love it. I was worried that it would be too big however it worked out perfectly. It has plenty of room for me to grow into it. I attached a photograph of what I fit into this case. I have my Sony a77 mounted with a Carl Zeiss 24-70mm lens. A 70mm, 50mm, and the standard 18-135mm lens. My 70-200 f2. 8 lens (not in the picture) easily fits into this case. I also have three Pocket Wizards, Sekonic L-758DR, two speed lights, and three 77mm filters. As you can see in the picture, I still have plenty of room to add an a99 body, a few more lenses, and accessories. If this looks too big for you, consider the Pelican 1510 case; it is smaller and can be taken on an airplane as a carry-on.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
1650 w/ Pick N' Pluck Foam
by Valued Customer - February 26, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This 1650 Case is amazing. It is substantial. It fits everything I have inside, and there is no doubt in my mind that it's all completely safe. I don't use the case for shipping or air travel, but I do use it for taking ALL my equipment to shoots and events. It fits a [70-200 f/2. 8 IS] perfectly if sat vertically. The Pick N' Pluck foam came in two 4-inch sections, with an additional more stiff 1-inch section that covers the bottom, and a 1 1/2 to 2-inch section that fits in the lid to cover your gear when the case is closed. Each Pick N' Pluck section is 1/2-inch wide, and the entire 4-inches long of the section. If the 4-inches (or 8) is too much depth, you can take the pieces of the foam out, and (if needed cut them down) place them back in horizontally to reduce depth of the foam. The latches on the outside of the case are so solid that you can be assured that it's sealed merely by the sound of the latch closing. And seven times assured with 7 latches and two metal padlock holes for extra sealing and security. This is a solid case and I would have paid twice the price for it.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Pelican 1650
by Valued Customer - January 28, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Bought this to carry my armor and gear into country on deployments. I already know about the quality of Pelican boxes and am hoping this one is big enough to carry my stuff. What I didn't know about was if the foam (especially on the lid) was glued onto the inside and if I was going to end up peeling it off. Luckily ALL the foam in the box just pulls right out until you have a completely empty box - which is what I wanted. Will update when I get down range and see how it fares with travel and being dragged around the rocky streets of Bagram. 19SEP2016Went through Kuwait, flew on C-17's, dragged through sand and rocks - case was dusty but held up. In Kuwait I had to drop the box from the back of a C-17 ten feet to the tarmac, I thought the weight of the contents would pop the lid, but it didn't. Checked out the box and it was scratched up on one corner but it held with about 60-70 pounds of stuff inside. Wheels didn't break, nothing. Works as a great bench too waiting for busses and vans too!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
So big my 8 year old can fit in it.
by Valued Customer - May 14, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I bought this case to safely store and transport my Alienbees lights for photography. Right now I have an AB800, AB400, Vagabond Mini Lithium Battery, three Canon 550 EX flashes, remote triggers, extra batteries plus external battery packs for the 550's, the 7'' AB reflectors as well as the AB grid stack. With all of that in there I can still fit another AB flash as well as two more Vagabond Mini Lithium batteries in there and feel safe checking it on an airline. These cases are the best out there. I also have the 1510 carry on case that I use to transport my cpap, a light camera gear set, and laptop for travel for work. Along with that I also have the 1200 that I keep a Canon 6D in with a 40 pancake, an extra battery, an 85 f1. 8 and a 15 f2. 8 fisheye in. That is my every day case. I lost an expensive camera/lens years ago in a canoe tipping accident and I vowed to do better to protect my gear. Ice fishing and fishing in the boat are a big part of my life. Keeping gear safe, secure, and dry are important components of an enjoyable trip. Use Pelican Cases. They are the best.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
the material does become somewhat brittle and easily broken. A couple of the clips snapped by.
by Valued Customer - October 29, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I am a building contractor by trade and as such, many of my tools receive heavy use and sometimes abuse! This case has served me very well for 4 years now. I bought this as a tool case that would reside in the bed of my truck, which is where it has lived for those 4 years. Blazing heat to sub-zero winter days and everything in between - this case has been out in it all. Other materials and tools get thrown on top of it and slid in next to it. Of the original lid locking clips only two remain completely intact, the others have all been broken off. On the coldest of days, the material does become somewhat brittle and easily broken. A couple of the clips snapped by just trying to open them with hand pressure after they had been frozen shut with ice. BUT - never have any of the tools inside gotten wet, even with only one clip securely in place this box will stay dry in a rain or snow storm. All in all solid product and worth the price - I doubt you can abuse it anymore than I have!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no